Blowing the Dust Off

(Courtesy of Jay phyfer)

 

It has been a VERY long time since I posted to this dusty old blog.  Lets see if it still works!

I have been away from the blog mainly because I have been busy teaching, and just not motivated to share too much.  Recently though, I have been having some experiences with students that have shaken me awake.

Above, you see a group of very motivated photography students at Virginia Intermont College in Bristol, Va. setting up a composition with my 5×7 wet collodion camera.  This two day outing was set up by the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts (VMFA), who also recently sent me to the University of Mary Washington to meet another group of students a few weeks ago.  Both of these experiences were very fun and helped me overcome some creative…or motivational blocks I had been dealing with.

In addition to the my traveling magic shows for the VMFA, I am still teaching two to three classes a semester at Virginia State University. This endeavor has kept me very busy and away from creating my own work unfortunately.

As a remedy to this situation I have launched a new Kickstarter project to assist in funding my next body of work.  Information on that can be found HERE.  A dedicated post to this effort will be posted in the near future.

~ by Phil Nesmith on March 25, 2012.

 
