Flow

I have been on a 17 day car-camping trip across America and just returned home to Virginia late last night. The trip had been planned well before the idea to go to south Louisiana had formed, so I would like to say to anyone thinking about doing a 4000 mile photo trip three days before leaving on a 6800 mile vacation camping trip…..rest up! Almost 11,000 miles in about five weeks is pretty epic.

Needless to say the trip was great, and relaxing as I did not touch a camera the whole time really. But, it is time to get back to work. Yesterday I start teaching the summer teen digital photography workshops at the Virginia Museum of Fine Art (VMFA). Around that activity I am trying to find the time to start pulling together the first show of the gulf work.  Really, it is all good problems to have!

I am happy to announce a solo show of the work made in south Louisiana taking place at Irvine Contemporary in Washington D.C. which opens on September 11th. The name of the show is Flow. Details will be posted once everything is firm, but I wanted you to know with as much advance notice as possible.

Vacation was good, but now it is time to get back to work!

The image below is a 5×7 black glass ambrotype (wet collodion) of the coast of Grand Isle, La.

©2010 Phillip Nesmith

~ by Phil Nesmith on July 20, 2010.

One Response to “Flow”

  1. […] ambrotype is Eugene.  I met him during my second week in south Louisiana while I was making this image from the only bridge to Grand Isle.  Next to the bridgehead was a small area that had been cleared […]

Comments are closed.

 
