The End….of 2009

©2009 Phillip Nesmith

©2009 Phillip Nesmith

I have wanted to write a new blog post for what seems to be months now.  The truth is my last posting was made when Flight Patterns took flight in Washington D.C. Today I looked around and realized that there is only one day left in 2009.  The end of the year has arrived and before the dust has had a chance to settle 2010 is coming on hard.

The last half of 2009 was consumed with the creation of the Flight Patterns work, the corresponding gallery talk, and activities surrounding participation at Photo Miami 2009.  Even with the economy the way that it has been I am happy to report that many of the larger Flight Pattern plates have found homes in wonderful collections.  The show and gallery talk at Irvine Contemporary was well attended and reaction in Miami was very strong adding a great ending to the year.

The past two weeks have been spent getting away from Richmond and NOT really thinking too much about my work.  Trips to New York City, Tennessee, and Massachusetts (leaving tomorrow) have helped me to get ready to jump back in the pool and begin work on more stuff in 2010.  Recent visits to the National Portrait Gallery, International Center of Photography, MoMA, and MET (to see Robert Frank’s The Americans) have been very refreshing.  Between the traveling I have been trying to catch up on reading and clipping images from the mountains of old magazines I have and filing them away.  You see, I don’t sketch so I collect images from the visual stream that catch my eye and remind me of something I would like to explore.

Speaking of magazines, I also wrote my first magazine article this fall with will be appearing in Volume 2 of Diffusion Magazine.  I don’t want to give away the details of the article before it goes to print, but it is not your typical photography technique/technology related article I don’t think.  Diffusion is an annual “unconventional” photography publication, which if you are reading this blog, you might find interesting.  Check it out!

Happy New Year

~ by Phil Nesmith on December 30, 2009.

 
