Three Summer Dryplates

©2008 Phillip Nesmith

The image above was made in my darkroom this morning.  My plate making has fallen off with the descent of fall then the wet arrival of winter.  Currently there is a fresh batch of salted collodion settling out in the darkroom as I type this so I hope to have something new for the new year.

The plates in the above image are 5×7 dryplate portraits of my wife Jennifer.  They were made back in the summer when she was busy with her first garden.  The plates were a light leak test of my vintage (1890 to 1915) 5×7 Kodak view camera.  The resulting images were the seeds for the portrait project I am currently working on.  Links below will take you to some of those images.

The Harvest
O Mandolin
Gold Bug
Deerslayer

~ by Phil Nesmith on December 21, 2008.

 
