Seaweed Triptych

While in Maine during a short vacation my imagination was captured by the primitive aquatic plants commonly called seaweed. So many types with different colors, shapes, and flotation means…..I had to make collodion plates of them. The triptych above is made from plates II, III, and IV of VII which make up the complete Maine seaweed collection. The plates are 5×7 and created with authentic 1800s formulas and camera.

I find myself creating or better yet recreating a curiosity cabinet of sorts with my exploration of items from nature and medicine. Part of the reason for this is that my current wet plate operation is not mobile at the moment. Because of this I am stuck creating images of subjects close to or in the darkroom. This set of events has given me a great challenge as it has forced me to try making compelling images of subjects I might otherwise not photograph.

There is no doubt that I was unconsciously influenced by the vintage photograms by Anna Atkins, one of which is posted above. You can see her full work here.

~ by Phil Nesmith on July 20, 2008.

 
