The Hardest Part

” The hardest part of artmaking is living your life in such a way that your work gets done, over and over – and that means, among other things, finding a host of practices that are just plain useful. A peice of art is the surface expression of a life lived within productive patterns.”

The quote above is from the book Art & Fear by David Bayles and Ted Orland. I have owned this book for many years now but have not touched it since I first read it soon after my arrival in Missoula Montana during the summer of 2004. That was a very important time as I had just left Iraq and was trying to point my life in a new direction, one in which my photography would play a much larger role.

Over the past year it has been hard for me to find my stride with my vision. I have felt blinded and unable to get on with making much new. There are many reason for this, some real and some imagined, and I feel that I will write about a few of the more sinister ones here soon. But this morning, after reading the above last night before falling to sleep, I can say that my life recently has not been lived within PRODUCTIVE patterns.

~ by Phil Nesmith on May 16, 2008.

 
