The BIG News

Ok so it has been a while since I posted anything here and I have lots of good reasons.  To keep you from clicking away to another destination on the Interweb I will keep the list short.

  1. Nothing to write about
  2. Working in the darkroom
  3. Shooting the Marine Marathon for the Crystal City BID

So there ya go, that is what I have been up to.  I could end the post there but then you would not hear about the great news that I have to pass along to you.  Before I get to that (and to tease you a bit) I first need to remind you that the Nov/Dec issue of Camera Arts has hit the stands. This issue has a short essay by me and a seven page portfolio of some of my early Iraq dry-plate tintypes.  The cover for this issue is displayed below.  What to know where you can pick one up (and you know you MUST have this one), then click here and seek it out as soon as you can!

Now for the news that you have all been waiting for! For the past few months I have been alluding to a “winter show” or the “mystery exhibition” and “something special” that I was hoping to pull together.  Well the time has come to unveil some the details.

  

On January 12, 2008 I am busting open the New Year with an extra special series of my Iraq images.  A selection of them will be on display in Gallery #2 of Irvine Contemporary located in Washington DC (directions).  Mark your calendars people, and make serious plans to attend the opening because you are gonna want to see it.  For four years, since the time I first captured the images in Baghdad I have been struggling to fulfill the vision of what I wanted the images to be.  Through my early explorations at the Rocky Mountain School of Photography making 3-D displays with mixing twisted metal and silver prints printed from scared negatives, to my self-education in wet and dry-plate photography I have been searching.  I have been consumed with these images, so much so that I have not been able to start any new projects.  Now after years of work and experimentation I feel that I have finally arrived at the destination that I have been seeking.  There have been many versions of some of the images, from silver prints to inkjet and digital-to-plate and I have now decided on what I want the final product to be.  This work, the product of my last few years after leaving Iraq will be displayed in a great space.   I hope that you will join me in celebrating the completion of a journey that has changed my life.

~ by Phil Nesmith on October 31, 2007.

 
