If It’s Easy, Then It’s Not Worth Doing

I have been working through an obstacle course of technical issues over the past three months and I can tell you that I am becoming tired. Maybe frustration is the best word because after so much effort and so many avenues explored I have nothing but the knowledge of what does not work. Yes, I know that this information is of great value because I now know what in fact does not work.  This information will be important for the rest of my life as an artist, but three months without a decent plate is a bit much. I don’t want to get into the specifics of the issues that I am having because I just do not want to relive them all right now, but I am sure sometime in the future I will share the details.

While the stress and frustration of my technical issues were at their highest level yesterday I got an email “out of the blue” from a friend of mine who I met while at the Rocky Mountain School of Photography in Montana. In this email was some information that led me to discover another photographer/artist who is working with dry-plate. Her name is Alison Carey.

Alison builds worlds and photographs them and in the end creates modern dry-plate ambrotypes (gelatin emulsion on black glass). I had only recently started to explore making black glass images gelatin emulsion myself, so it was interesting to think about the timing of this discovery. I enjoy looking at her work because it reminds me of the time in my childhood when I was fascinated with model trains and the detailed worlds that people would build for them. This type of image also links back to images that I have made for myself such as the Man of Adventure image that I posted here.

Do you know of any dry or wet-plate artist/photographers that you think that I should take a look at? If you do, then drop me an email……you can find the address at my site ….look for the contact info.

** Image above linked to from the site of Alison Carey **

~ by Phil Nesmith on October 24, 2007.

 
