Man of Adventure

©2007 Phillip Nesmith

As a child I spent countless hours playing with plastic men of adventure or all types. From green army men, to brown Indians, and the always awesome white diver, these plastic figures took me around the world, and through history.

Today, for the first time in many years, I followed the white diver to the deep. At the age of 34, I am not ashamed to say that I still like to play. As a matter of fact, I am ashamed to say that I have allowed “adult” life and rules to chain me to a dull world. Today, as you can see from the image above, I broke free of those chains and explored another world right in my backyard.

Being “grown up” is for the birds. Start living again…..remember what it was like to be a kid!

~ by Phil Nesmith on October 14, 2007.

One Response to “Man of Adventure”

  1. […] Alison builds worlds and photographs them and in the end creates modern dry-plate ambrotypes (gelatin emulsion on black glass). I had only recently started to explore making black glass images gelatin emulsion myself, so it was interesting to think about the timing of this discovery. I enjoy looking at her work because it reminds me of the time in my childhood when I was fascinated with model trains and the detailed worlds that people would build for them. This type of image also links back to images that I have made for myself such as the Man of Adventure image that I posted here. […]

Comments are closed.

 
