Tintype Dreams

© 2007 Phillip Nesmith

Back in July I made a post here about my DCAC invasion, and I said that I was showing three new 8×10 dry-plate tintypes. The image above is a scan of one of the plates called Dream #1, which is the first of what I hope will be a growing collection of images that explore frozen images and emotions in my mind created by the life that I have lived thus far.

This image is dark, strange, and in some aspects rough….like many of the things locked away in my mind. Making these types of images does not come very natural to me as I like to explore the factual in my world, very PJ or doc styles of image making…..

Anyway, as I work on emulsion testing tonight, I hope that you find this image interesting and a pleasure to explore. As you ponder the meaning of this image, also think about this, in the coming days I will be making an exciting post about the My Iraq series of tintypes. What is it? Well I guess you will just have to keep checking back to see…….yeah, I am trying to get my views up ok 🙂

~ by Phil Nesmith on September 20, 2007.

 
