Chris Morgan – Wet Plate Time Travel

 Over the weekend, I had the opportunity to have a large group of friends and area photographers / artist at the house for a cookout to celebrate Jennifer’s birthday (she is my soul mate and photographic partner).  I had the chance to talk about the processes that I have been using for my fine art image work and got to show off the large cameras.  I also got to discuss American photography history through the 1800’s and how I choose certain elements of that time to produce my work.  Over time I have found that I love talking about my work, my vision, photography history, and how I like to add something special to my work by using elements from the past.  I had a great time, and I hope that those that dared to ask me something about my photography enjoyed what I had to say about it. 

After talking about my work and some current projects, I was again interested in finding other photographers that are working with elements from the 1800’s.  Although I am most interested in other artist like myself who are adding a contemporary slant to 1800’s photographic processes, I am happy to see so many who are interested in keeping the authentic aspects of 1800’s photography alive.  While searching for other artist I located the site of Chris Morgan.

Chris is primarily a Civil War reenactment photographer who also photographs historic sites (in regards to his wet plate work).  One of the collodion subjects that Christ captures that excites me most is contemporary weddings.  I am not sure how many people that Chris finds that would like this type of image of their wedding, but I can say that I find it very interesting.  He only has two images from his wet plate wedding work, but I truly hope that he has more.

Another topic that may be of interest to the readers of this blog are the equipment pictures that Chris has on his site.  He has clear, detailed shots of his reproduction camera with period Darlot lens, dark-box setup, etc

~ by Phil Nesmith on August 27, 2007.

 
