Post Patriotism Report

The morning after the Patriotism opening finds me preparing for a day of ferrotype making. This weekend is the only free time that I have to attempt to make a decent plate for the DCAC Wall Mountables gig on July 20th. Being a last minute decision I do not have a solid idea of what I want to create, beyond a pixel to plate hybrid from some image in my archive.

Before I get to carried away on the task of the day, I need to report on the Patriotism opening. First of all I need to say that meeting Missy Loewe, the academic dean of the Washington School of Photography, and president of the board of Capitol Arts Network, and learning more about WSP was the greatest surprise to result from the Patriotism show. I don’t think that I have ever laughed so much at a photo gathering before, and the sharing of project ideas related to documentary photography, and teaching was very exciting.

Between waves of Bethesda Art Walk groups wondering through the space, awards were handed out for the top three works in the show. My “Arizona Border” (AKA Ole Glory) placed 3rd over all, and was the top placed photographic work. The 1st and 2nd place works were paintings with the #1 spot going to painter Mary Susan Vaughn with her grand “America’s Promise”. Mary, caught up with me after the handing out of the awards and often paints her images from photographs, and is interested in making a painting from my Arizona Borders image. I look forward to working with her on this.

Later in the evening a sizable group of us went to have a nice dinner, and trade stories and contemplate the Universe. In actuality, it was not that serious, with tons of laughing, talk of locust and Cheez-its among other things. There is no way anyone reading this that was not there could understand what I want writing about, but maybe you should count yourself lucky ☺ If any of the people with the post-opening group are reading this, it was great to meet you and dinner was a blast!

Hurray for meeting great new people, showing work (with awards), and discovering possible future projects!

I am now off to the darkroom, till next time, go create something.

~ by Phil Nesmith on July 14, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
