Smoked – Meditations on Lint and The American Myth

The following images – I view them as sketches – are the result of a recent multiple day play season.  Driven by a fascination of dryer lint and a collection of automobile ads and other imagery from the 1960s, 70s, and 80s.  I sat down to make something.  Anything.  Not something intended to be serious, with no direction, just to blindly make.  To free my imagination to the actions I remember being so common when I was a child.  I needed to end a long stretch of inactivity.  Well, below are some of the results that fall into a nice grouping.

Alteration by Phil Nesmith

After an assignment that I gave to my students, and the resulting conversations I have had growing interest in appropriation, the life of a photograph, what happens through the process of rephotographing a photograph, and adding three dimensional objects to images.  Many artist have explored appropriation in the creation of their work, Richard Prince, Sherry Levine, Andy Warhol, Jeff Koons, and Louise Lawler,  are but a few.  My interest in this is being driven by a growing change in the my relationship with photography and photographic image making that seems to have started a year or more ago.

Currently I am not in a position to put my thoughts about my relationship with photography into words because I don’t know what it is yet.  I know what it once was, but transition is occurring.  There has been a growing boredom in the act of pointing the magic box at stuff.  Part of me is frightened to read that last sentence, yet I know that my photographic work has always been about much more than pointing the box…

Alteration by Phil Nesmith

Alteration by Phil Nesmith

Alteration by Phil Nesmith

Alteration by Phil Nesmith

Alteration by Phil Nesmith

Alteration by Phil Nesmith

Alteration by Phil Nesmith

Alteration by Phil Nesmith

Alteration by Phil Nesmith

**** MORE CARS CAN BE FOUND HERE ****

~ by Phil Nesmith on December 30, 2013.

3 Responses to “Smoked – Meditations on Lint and The American Myth”

  1. […] More burning luxury can be found here. […]

  2. The series really got my attention. The lint against the slickness of the ads is unsettling, and I laughed out loud at some of them. Intriguing investigations!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 464 other followers

